DogsPit bull feeding guideIntermediate

Best Dog Food for Pit Bulls? Compare Calories, Protein and Cost Before You Buy

How to feed a pit bull-type dog in the U.S.: size ranges across the APBT, AmStaff, Staffordshire Bull Terrier and American Bully, calorie needs by weight, body and muscle condition scoring, six labels compared per 1,000 kcal, muscle-claim reality checks and cost per day.

Best Dog Food for Pit Bulls? Compare Calories, Protein and Cost Before You Buy
Related Pet Types:Dog
Feeding guide · Pit bull–type dogs

Best Dog Food for Pit Bulls? Compare Calories, Protein and Cost Before You Buy

"Pit bull" covers dogs from a 25-pound Staffordshire to a big-boned XL bully. Here's how to feed the one on your couch: the right calories for its size, a fair way to compare protein, and what the "muscle" claims on bully foods really mean.

  • More protein = more muscle
  • Bully breeds need a bully food
  • A cup is a cup

Search for the best dog food for pit bulls and you'll find two kinds of answers. One is a list of popular brands with a protein percentage next to each. The other is a sales page promising a thicker neck and bigger chest. Neither starts where a veterinarian would: with the actual dog, its size, its body condition and how much it really moves.

That gap matters more for pit bull–type dogs than for most. They are muscular by build, so owners are often told to chase protein. They come in a wide range of sizes under one nickname, so feeding charts written for "a pit bull" can be off by hundreds of calories. And a whole category of high-calorie "bully" foods has grown up around the look many owners want. This guide takes those three problems one at a time, using breed standards, veterinary nutrition guidelines and the published labels of six foods pit bull owners commonly consider. No food was tested by us, and we don't sell any of them.

First, which "pit bull" are you feeding?

"Pit bull" isn't one breed. The American Veterinary Medical Association's literature review on breed and dog bites calls the pit bull type "particularly ambiguous as a 'breed,'" covering a range of pedigree breeds, informal types and mixes, and notes that visual breed identification isn't always reliable. Research backs that up. A 2016 study in PLOS ONE reviewed shelter work showing that staff and veterinarians identify pit bull–type dogs inconsistently, and cited earlier DNA work in which half of the dogs labeled as pit bulls lacked the genetic signatures of the breeds usually grouped under that name. (The same ambiguity runs through breed-specific laws, but that's a different article.)

For feeding purposes, the name matters less than the size range it hides. Here's what the registries say about the breeds most often meant:

Breed or typeRegistryHeight at shoulderWeight in the standard
American Pit Bull TerrierUnited Kennel Club (not on the AKC breed list)Males 18–21 in; females 17–20 inMales 35–60 lb; females 30–50 lb ("in good condition")
American Staffordshire TerrierAmerican Kennel ClubMales about 18–19 in; females about 17–18 inNot specified; "height and weight should be in proportion"
Staffordshire Bull TerrierAmerican Kennel Club (standard effective 2025)14–16 inDogs 28–38 lb; bitches 24–34 lb
American Bully (Pocket, Standard, XL)United Kennel Club (not on the AKC breed list)From about 13 in (Pocket females) to 23 in (XL males)Not specified
Pit-type mixesNoneAnythingAnything

So a dog called a pit bull might weigh 25 pounds or 75. Many are mixes; a pit bull–Lab mix, for example, can take after either parent. The practical rule: ignore the breed label when you portion food and work from your own dog's weight and body condition. That one change fixes most of what goes wrong.

The standards also say something about the look itself. The UKC standard describes the American Pit Bull Terrier as having "smooth, well-defined musculature" and says the dog "should never appear bulky or muscle-bound." It lists "excessively large or overly massive dogs" as a very serious fault and says the correct proportion of weight to height matters far more than the dog's actual weight or height. The AKC calls the AmStaff "muscular, but agile and graceful." Even the UKC American Bully standard, the breed most associated with mass, warns that "quality is never to be sacrificed in favor of size and mass." None of these standards describes a bulked-up dog as the goal.

Calories: the number that decides how your dog looks

A dog's shape is mostly the result of calories in versus calories burned, plus the exercise that builds and keeps muscle. The American Animal Hospital Association's 2021 guidelines estimate resting energy requirement (RER) as 70 × body weight in kilograms to the 0.75 power, then multiply by a factor for the dog's situation: 1.4 to 1.6 for a typical neutered adult, 1.6 to 1.8 for an intact adult, and 1.0 to 1.2 for an inactive or weight-gain-prone dog. AAHA adds that sedentary and indoor pets may need less, and that portions should be adjusted by watching weight and body condition.

Lean body weightRERInactive (1.0–1.2×)Neutered adult (1.4–1.6×)Intact adult (1.6–1.8×)
25 lb (11.3 kg) · small Staffie433433–519606–692692–779
35 lb (15.9 kg) · small APBT557557–668779–891891–1,002
50 lb (22.7 kg) · mid-size727727–8731,018–1,1641,164–1,310
60 lb (27.2 kg) · large APBT male834834–1,0011,168–1,3351,335–1,502
70 lb (31.8 kg) · big mix or bully936936–1,1241,311–1,4981,498–1,685

Estimated kcal per day, calculated by Patify from AAHA's formula and factors. Starting points only; your veterinarian may use a different target, especially for an overweight dog.

Two things in that table surprise most owners. First, the gap between a 25-pound and a 70-pound "pit bull" is roughly double the calories, which is why one feeding chart can't fit the type. Second, at the same weight, the inactive range and the typical range sit roughly 300 calories a day apart for a 50-pound dog. Activity level, honestly assessed, matters as much as the food.

"Active" deserves a reality check. A couple of brisk 30-minute walks and some fetch is ordinary pet activity, not the "work" that AAHA's higher factors describe. Those are written for working dogs: 1.6 to 2.0 for light work, 2.0 to 5.0 for moderate work, and higher still for heavy work. Very few family pit bulls are working dogs in that sense.

Judge the dog: body condition and muscle condition

The scale tells you weight. It doesn't tell you whether that weight is muscle or fat, which is the question pit bull owners actually care about. Veterinary nutrition uses two separate scores for that.

Body condition score (fat)

WSAVA's body condition chart uses a 9-point scale, and 4 to 5 is ideal. At a 4, the ribs are easily felt with minimal fat covering and the waist is easy to see from above. At a 5, the ribs are felt without excess fat covering and a waist is visible behind them. At 6, there's slight excess fat over the ribs; at 7, the ribs are hard to feel under heavy fat. Short coats make this easier than in fluffy breeds: on a lean pit bull–type dog you can often see the waist, and sometimes the last rib or two, in good light.

Muscle condition score (muscle)

WSAVA's separate muscle condition chart, developed at Tufts University, assesses muscle by looking at and feeling the spine, shoulder blades, skull and the wings of the hip bones. It notes that muscle loss usually shows first along the spine, and, importantly, that a dog can carry significant muscle loss while overweight. A heavy, soft pit bull is not necessarily a well-muscled one. WSAVA describes the difference this way: body condition assesses fat stores, while muscle condition assesses muscle, which can be affected by disease or aging.

Try this at homeRun your flat hand along your dog's ribs, then down both sides of the spine and over the hips. Ribs you can feel easily under a thin layer, a visible tuck behind them, and firm, even muscle along the spine is the picture you want. Ribs you have to press to find mean fat. A spine that feels bony with a soft belly can mean muscle loss, and in a middle-aged dog that's worth an exam.

Ask your veterinarian to score both at your next visit. It takes a minute and gives you a baseline you can track at home.

Six labels compared: calories, protein and fat per 1,000 kcal

Comparing dog foods by the percentages on the bag is misleading, because those numbers are "as fed." Tufts University's Petfoodology team explains that as-fed figures make foods hard to compare because they ignore differences in water and calories, and recommends converting nutrients to the same calorie basis. So we did that for six foods pit bull owners commonly consider, from everyday adult formulas to high-calorie bully foods.

How we compared: calorie content, guaranteed analysis and adequacy statements were copied from each manufacturer's official U.S. page or label PDF on October 28, 2026. Protein and fat per 1,000 kcal are Patify calculations from the guaranteed minimums and the stated kcal/kg, so actual amounts may be higher. Grams per cup = kcal/cup ÷ kcal/kg × 1,000. This is not a ranking or a feeding trial.
Food (dry)kcal/cupkcal/kgg/cupProtein g/1,000 kcalFat g/1,000 kcalAdequacy statement
Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed Chicken & Barley3653,67599n/a*n/a*Adult maintenance (feeding tests)
Pro Plan Complete Essentials Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice3693,7909768.642.2Adult maintenance (feeding tests)
Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice4073,82310668.031.4Adult maintenance (feeding tests)
Pro Plan Sport Performance 30/20 Chicken & Rice4844,39011068.345.6All life stages, incl. growth of large sized dogs (feeding tests)
Bully Max 30/20 High Protein5353,93013676.350.9Standard statement not shown in page text; page says "labeled for all life stages"†
Bully Max PRO Series 31/25 High Calorie6004,19614373.959.6Standard statement not shown in page text†

*Hill's publishes average nutrient content on a dry-matter basis rather than as-fed guaranteed minimums on this page, so per-calorie values aren't comparable and aren't shown. †On the Bully Max pages we checked, the adequacy wording appeared only in an image description ("formulated to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for puppies, adult dogs and large breed dogs"). Confirm the full statement on the bag. For reference, AAFCO's adult maintenance minimum is 45 g of protein and 13.8 g of fat per 1,000 kcal.

What the numbers show

  • "30/20" didn't mean more protein per calorie here. Pro Plan Sport 30/20 provides about 68 g of protein per 1,000 kcal on its guaranteed minimums. Pro Plan Adult Large Breed, labeled 26% protein, provides about the same: 68 g. The Sport food's higher percentage comes packaged with more calories, mostly from fat. If you feed both to the same calorie target, the dog gets roughly the same minimum protein.
  • Every food clears the protein minimum with room to spare. All five we could calculate sit at about 68 to 76 g per 1,000 kcal, roughly 50 to 70% above AAFCO's adult minimum of 45 g. A healthy pet pit bull eating any of them to its calorie needs isn't short on protein.
  • The cup is doing a lot of the work. Per kilogram, these foods differ by 19% (3,675 to 4,390 kcal). Per cup, they differ by 64% (365 to 600 kcal), because a cup of the Bully Max foods holds roughly 136 to 143 grams of kibble versus about 97 to 110 grams for the others. Bully Max 30/20 actually has fewer calories per kilogram than Pro Plan Sport, but more per cup.
  • Switching without re-measuring is how dogs balloon. Three cups a day of the Hill's food is about 1,095 kcal. Three cups of Bully Max 31/25 is about 1,800 kcal. That 705-calorie difference is more than half of a 50-pound neutered dog's estimated daily needs, added every single day.
Run the numbers: a 50-lb neutered adultEstimated need: about 1,018–1,164 kcal/day (AAHA 1.4–1.6 × RER). That's about 2.8–3.2 cups of Hill's Adult Large Breed or Pro Plan Complete Essentials, 2.5–2.9 cups of Pro Plan Adult Large Breed, 2.1–2.4 cups of Pro Plan Sport 30/20, 1.9–2.2 cups of Bully Max 30/20, or 1.7–1.9 cups of Bully Max 31/25. Purina's own chart for Sport 30/20 suggests 2 to 2-1/4 cups for a 36–50 lb dog, which lines up with the estimate. Weigh it: in grams, all six land between about 230 and 320 g a day.

For more on comparing protein fairly across foods, our dog food protein guide walks through the conversions, and our piece on high-protein, low-carb dog food covers when those formulas make sense.

Decoding "muscle" marketing

Nearly every food in this space mentions muscle. Some claims are modest and conditional, others much bolder. Here's how they read side by side:

On the label
Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed: "High protein promotes muscle conditioning when combined with proper exercise." Hill's Adult Large Breed: "Lean muscles supported with high-quality protein."
What it means
Adequate protein supports muscle that exercise builds and maintains. Note Purina's own qualifier: "when combined with proper exercise." No food builds muscle on a sedentary dog.
On the label
Bully Max 30/20: "supports muscle and weight gain," and "92.3% of surveyed Bully Max customers reported more muscle (survey of 859 customers)."
What it means
A customer survey isn't a controlled study. It can't separate the food from age, exercise, extra calories or what owners hoped to see. "Weight gain" from a 535 to 600 kcal-per-cup food is real; whether it's muscle depends on the dog's training and body condition.

The core idea worth holding onto: extra protein doesn't become muscle on its own. Muscle responds to use. Without that use, calories beyond what the dog burns, whether they come from protein, fat or carbohydrate, are stored as fat. That's why the standards above describe a fit, athletic dog rather than a heavy one, and why the muscle condition score, not the bag's percentage, is the honest measure.

The same caution applies to "muscle" and "weight gain" supplements sold for bully breeds. AAFCO warns that supplementing a complete and balanced diet risks exceeding the upper limits of certain nutrients, and that owners should always talk to their veterinarian before introducing supplements. A complete food fed in the right amount already covers the nutrients a healthy adult needs.

When a performance or high-calorie food makes sense

High-calorie foods aren't bad foods. They solve real problems:

  • Genuinely working or competing dogs such as dogs in regular agility, weight pull, dock diving, long-distance running or hunting, which fall into AAHA's work categories and may struggle to eat enough volume of a standard food.
  • Underweight dogs, often rescues, once a veterinarian has ruled out medical causes and set a target. Our guide to dog food for weight gain covers how to do that safely.
  • Hard keepers that stay thin on reasonable portions of an ordinary food despite a clean bill of health.

For everyone else, a performance food just means a smaller scoop. That's not harmful if you measure carefully, but it leaves less room for error and makes every extra handful count more. Our article on high-performance dog food goes deeper into who benefits.

What a food really costs per day

Price per bag hides the real cost. What you actually pay for is calories, so the useful number is cost per 1,000 kcal, and from there, cost per day for your dog.

The formulaCost per 1,000 kcal = bag price ÷ (bag weight in lb × 0.4536 × kcal/kg) × 1,000
Cost per day = cost per 1,000 kcal × your dog's daily kcal ÷ 1,000

Of the six foods above, only Bully Max listed prices on its official site when we checked, so it makes a useful worked example. Prices are as displayed on October 28, 2026, before shipping, tax or subscription discounts.

Bully Max 30/20 bagListed priceCalories in bagCost per 1,000 kcalPer day at 1,100 kcal
5 lb$26.47~8,900$2.97$3.27
15 lb$55.97~26,700$2.09$2.30
30 lb$98.99~53,500$1.85$2.04
40 lb$129.99~71,300$1.82$2.01
60 lb$199.99~107,000$1.87$2.06
80 lb$259.99~142,600$1.82$2.01

The pattern matches what Tufts' Petfoodology team found in a broader 2022 analysis: with dry foods, the smaller the package, the higher the cost per calorie. Here the 5-pound bag costs about 60% more per calorie than the large bags. Tufts also modeled a 55-pound dog eating 1,100 kcal a day and found daily food costs ranging from 55 cents to nearly $20 across products, with an all-wet diet costing about five times as much as an all-dry one.

To compare any other food, copy this blank worksheet with prices from your store:

FoodBag size (lb)Pricekcal/kg (from label)Cost per 1,000 kcalCost per day for my dog
 
 
 

One more cost that doesn't show up on the receipt: a dog that's carrying extra weight. If a cheaper-per-calorie food ends up fed by the cup and overshoots by a few hundred calories a day, it isn't cheaper. For more ways to cut costs without cutting quality, see our budget-friendly dog food guide.

Pit bull puppies: grow them lean, not big

Puppies need a food labeled complete and balanced for growth or for all life stages. Because most pit bull–type dogs finish well under 70 pounds, a standard puppy food is appropriate; there's no need for a large-breed formula unless your puppy is expected to top 70 pounds. If both parents are very large, our Golden Retriever feeding guide explains why large-breed growth foods matter for bigger puppies.

Resist the urge to "bulk up" a puppy. The Merck Veterinary Manual warns that overfeeding during growth increases growth rate in a way that is incompatible with proper skeletal development and contributes to obesity later in life. Some high-calorie adult foods carry an all-life-stages claim, which makes them nutritionally acceptable for puppies, but their calorie density means portions have to be measured with real care. Merck's professional manual suggests three meals a day until about six months and two from six to twelve months, with weekly weigh-ins during growth.

The growth minimums are higher than for adults. AAFCO's growth profile requires at least 22.5% protein and 8.5% fat on a dry-matter basis, compared with 18% and 5.5% for adult maintenance. Every puppy food carrying a proper growth or all-life-stages statement already meets those numbers.

Skin, weight swings and other reasons to see the vet before switching food

A lot of food switching is really an attempt to fix a medical problem with a grocery purchase. A few situations deserve an exam first.

Unexplained weight gain, dull coat or skin trouble

The Orthopedic Foundation for Animals notes that hypothyroidism is often suspected in dogs with weight gain or obesity combined with hair loss and skin problems, and that it tends to show up clinically between 2 and 5 years of age. A dog that keeps gaining on a measured portion needs bloodwork, not a lower-calorie bag.

Itchy skin

Skin complaints send many dog owners to the "sensitive skin" aisle. The Merck Veterinary Manual says multiple breeds are predisposed to atopic dermatitis (environmental allergy), and notes that essential fatty acids are not useful for controlling acute flares and work best as an add-on to other treatment. Many itchy dogs are reacting to something in their environment, or to fleas, rather than to their food. When a food allergy is suspected, the reliable test is a veterinary elimination diet trial. Our guide to dog food for skin allergies explains how that works.

Joints and weight

The OFA notes that the severity of hip dysplasia can be affected by environmental factors such as caloric intake and exercise, and states that "the key is weight control and exercise." For a muscular, enthusiastic dog, staying lean is one of the few things an owner fully controls.

Balance problems in a middle-aged dog

This one isn't nutritional at all, but owners sometimes blame food. OFA describes a late-onset neurological disease (a form of neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis) that affects many American Staffordshire Terriers and American Pit Bull Terriers, starting with impaired balance and typically appearing between 3 and 6 years of age. A DNA test exists. If your dog becomes wobbly, see your veterinarian; no diet change will help.

Call your veterinarian promptly if: your dog loses weight without trying, stops eating for more than a day, vomits repeatedly, has ongoing diarrhea, or shows sudden weakness or wobbliness. These are reasons for an exam, not for a new food.

A five-minute way to choose

Your dogLook forCompare bySkip
Healthy pet adult, normal activityAdult maintenance or all-life-stages statementkcal/cup and cost per 1,000 kcalPaying extra for "muscle" claims
Gains weight easilyLower kcal per cup so portions look reasonableBody condition every monthFree feeding; uncounted chews
Real working or sport dogPerformance or high-calorie food with a clear adequacy statementkcal/kg, fat per 1,000 kcalFeeding the bag's maximum without weighing the dog
Thin rescueVet exam first, then a calorie targetWeekly weight and muscle conditionSupplements stacked on a complete diet
PuppyGrowth or all-life-stages claimWeekly weight; lean growth"Bulking" foods fed generously
Itchy or scratchingA diagnosisVeterinary diet if a food trial is neededRotating "sensitive" foods

Pit bull feeding questions

Do pit bulls need a high-protein dog food?

Not specifically. Any complete and balanced adult food fed to the right calorie level provides well above AAFCO's protein minimum. In our comparison, every food we could calculate supplied roughly 68 to 76 g of protein per 1,000 kcal, against a minimum of 45 g. Exercise, not extra protein, is what builds muscle.

How much should I feed a 60-pound pit bull?

A lean, neutered 60-pound dog has an estimated need of about 1,170 to 1,340 kcal a day by AAHA's factors, and less if it's inactive. Divide that by your food's kcal per cup (or better, kcal per gram) for a starting portion, then adjust based on body condition over the next few weeks.

Is Bully Max a complete dog food?

Bully Max describes its 30/20 food as "labeled for all life stages," and its page lists a guaranteed analysis and calorie content. On the pages we checked, the full nutritional adequacy statement appeared only in an image description rather than as page text, so check the exact statement on the bag before relying on it as a complete diet. If the statement is present and you measure portions carefully, it can be fed like any other calorie-dense complete food.

Should a pit bull eat grain-free food?

There's no breed reason to. A June 2026 update from Tufts University's Petfoodology team links diet-associated heart disease (DCM) to diets high in pulses such as peas, lentils, chickpeas and beans, whether or not they contain grain. Our grain-free dog food guide covers the details. If your dog eats a pulse-heavy diet, mention it to your veterinarian.

Can I feed my pit bull a raw diet?

Some owners do. Raw diets bring their own questions about balance and food safety, which we cover in our raw feeding guide. The calorie math in this article applies either way.

Why is my pit bull gaining weight on the amount the bag says?

Feeding charts are designed to cover many dogs, and AAFCO itself says feeding directions may need modification for an individual pet. Add treats, chews and table scraps, and a dog can easily overshoot. Measure in grams, count the extras, and if the weight keeps rising on a measured portion, ask your veterinarian about a thyroid check.

Evidence and label sources

Researched and written by Patify Editorial Research Team, October 28, 2026. We compared published label data and veterinary guidance; we did not feed or test these products, and we have no affiliate or sponsorship relationship with any brand named. This article has not been reviewed by a veterinarian and is not a substitute for advice about your own dog.

You Might Also Like

See All Similar