DogsWet puppy food guideBeginner

Wet Puppy Food: How to Compare Complete Growth Diets

How to compare wet and canned puppy foods in the U.S.: confirming a complete growth claim, AAFCO naming rules, six real labels by calories per can and protein per 1,000 kcal, cans-per-day math, mixing wet and dry, storage rules and cost.

Wet Puppy Food: How to Compare Complete Growth Diets
Related Pet Types:Dog
Puppy feeding · Wet & canned food

Wet Puppy Food: How to Compare Complete Growth Diets

Cans come in different sizes, are mostly water, and sometimes aren't complete meals at all. Here's how to compare wet puppy foods fairly, work out how many cans a day your puppy needs, mix wet with dry, and store an open can safely.

CALORIE CONTENT
per kilogram1,187 kcal
per 13 oz can437 kcal
The calorie statement from Purina Pro Plan Puppy Chicken & Rice Entrée Classic. AAFCO requires this heading on pet food labels; it's the most useful number on a can.
  1. Confirm it's a complete growth food
  2. Compare per 1,000 kcal
  3. Work out cans per day
  4. Store it safely

Wet food has a lot going for it with puppies. It's aromatic and soft, which helps with a picky eater, a puppy who has just left its litter, or one whose mouth is sore while baby teeth fall out. It also makes it easy to sneak more water into a puppy's day. The Merck Veterinary Manual sums up canned food's advantages as "a long shelf life in a durable container and high palatability."

But wet food is harder to compare than kibble. Cans range from about 5 to more than 13 ounces. Merck notes that canned foods are 68% to 78% water, so the percentages on the label look tiny next to dry food. Some products that look like dinner are toppers that can't be fed alone. And per calorie, wet food costs far more. This guide focuses on the format; for choosing food by your puppy's size, see our small-breed puppy food guide, and for large breeds the puppy section of our Golden Retriever guide.

Step 1: make sure it's a complete growth food

Every U.S. pet food carries a nutritional adequacy statement, which AAFCO calls "perhaps the most important part of a label." For a puppy's main diet, it should say the food is complete and balanced for growth or for all life stages. The FDA explains that "complete and balanced" means a food is intended to be fed as a pet's sole diet, either because it meets an AAFCO nutrient profile or because it passed a feeding trial using AAFCO procedures. VCA's puppy guidance is blunt: "If there is no AAFCO Statement on the package, you should not use the food as your puppy's main diet."

Watch for "intermittent or supplemental feeding only"

Some wet products, especially toppers, broths, stews and treat-style cups, aren't complete. AAFCO and Merck both point to the required wording on these labels: the product "is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only." That's fine as an occasional extra, but it can't be the meal. If you use toppers, count them as treats; our dog food toppers guide explains how.

Read the size wording too

Wet puppy foods carry the same size-related language as dry ones, and it varies more than you'd expect:

  • Purina Pro Plan Puppy Chicken & Rice Entrée Classic is formulated for "growth of puppies, including growth of large sized dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)."
  • Royal Canin Puppy Loaf in Sauce is formulated for growth, "including growth of large size dogs."
  • Hill's Science Diet Puppy Chicken & Barley Entrée is substantiated by feeding tests for "growing puppies and gestating or lactating adult female dogs."
  • Pedigree's Puppy Chopped Ground Dinner describes itself as "100% complete nutrition, excluding growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)."

That Pedigree wording is the one to notice. It's a perfectly reasonable food for a puppy that will stay under 70 pounds, but not for a future Lab, Golden or Shepherd. Tufts University's nutrition team adds a useful caution: AAFCO uses a 70-pound cutoff, but "50 pounds is a more conservative weight to use" when deciding whether a puppy needs a large-breed diet.

Step 2: read the product name like a regulator

The words in a wet food's name follow AAFCO naming rules, and they tell you roughly how much of the named ingredient is inside:

"Chicken Puppy Food"The 95% rule: the named ingredient makes up at least 95% of the product by weight, not counting added water.
"Chicken Dinner," "Entrée," "Platter"The 25% rule: at least 25% of the product by weight, not counting added water.
"With Chicken"Only at least 3% of the named ingredient. "Chicken Flavor" means only that the flavor is detectable.

These rules describe ingredient proportions, not nutrition. A "dinner" can be an excellent complete food, and a 95% product can be a supplemental topper. Step 1 still decides whether a can is a meal.

Six wet puppy foods, compared on the label

We pulled label data for widely sold U.S. wet puppy foods from official product pages and Purina label PDFs on October 28, 2026. This is a label comparison, not a taste test or ranking. The last two columns are our calculations, explained in the next section.

FoodCankcal/cankcal/kgAdequacy claimProtein / fat / moistureProtein g per 1,000 kcal*Protein, dry matter*
Hill's Science Diet Puppy Chicken & Barley Entrée13 oz (370 g)4951,339Growing puppies + gestating/lactating females (feeding tests)Published as dry-matter averages: 29% / 20.3%n/a29% (avg)
Pro Plan Puppy Chicken & Rice Entrée Classic13 oz4371,187Growth, incl. large sized dogs (formulated)10% / 7% min / 78% max~84≥45%
Pro Plan Puppy Starter Mousse (chicken)5.5 oz1881,208Growth of puppies and lactation, incl. large sized dogs8.5% / 4.5% / 78%~70≥39%
Royal Canin Puppy Loaf in Sauce13.5 oz4171,084Growth, incl. large size dogs (formulated)7.5% / 4% / 76%~69≥31%
Royal Canin Puppy Loaf in Sauce5.2 oz1561,038Same product line8.2% / 4.7% / 78.5%~79≥38%
Pedigree Puppy Chopped Ground Dinner Chicken & Beef13.2 oz4211,122"Complete nutrition, excluding growth of large size dogs"9% / 7% / 78%~80≥41%

*Patify calculations from guaranteed minimums and maximum moisture, so actual values may be higher. AAFCO's growth minimum is 56.3 g of protein per 1,000 kcal (Merck). Hill's publishes dry-matter averages instead of as-fed guarantees on its page. The Starter Mousse figures come from Purina's label PDF. Wellness Complete Health Paté Puppy's product page listed a guaranteed analysis (9% protein, 6% fat, 78% moisture) but no calorie statement when we checked, so it isn't in the table.

What stands out

  • Same name, different food. Royal Canin's Puppy Loaf in Sauce has a different guaranteed analysis and calorie density in the 5.2-ounce can than in the 13.5-ounce can. If you switch can sizes, recheck the label.
  • Calories per can vary by more than three times. From 141 to 495 kcal per can across the products we looked at (including Royal Canin's 5.1 oz Starter Mother & Babydog Mousse, covered in our nursing article). "One can a day" means very different things.
  • All clear the protein bar. Every product we could calculate provides well above AAFCO's growth minimum of 56.3 g of protein per 1,000 kcal. Protein isn't the weak point of complete wet puppy foods; cost and calorie math are.
  • Starter mousses are a special case. Pro Plan's Starter Mousse is labeled for growth and lactation, so the same can can serve a nursing mother and her weaning puppies.

Before buying in bulk, take a quick look at current recalls on our dog food recalls page.

Step 3: compare on a calorie basis, not "as fed"

The percentages on a can are "as fed," including all that water, which makes wet foods look weak next to kibble. A dry puppy food might list 28% protein and a can 10%. That doesn't mean the can has a third of the protein.

Tufts University's Petfoodology team explains that canned foods are about 75% to 80% water, and that as-fed numbers "make it very difficult to compare foods." Its example: a dry food at 33% protein and a canned food at 8% protein both work out to about 36% protein once the water is removed. Merck gives the formula:

Dry-matter % = (as-fed % ÷ % dry matter) × 100
Pro Plan Puppy Classic: 10% protein, 78% moisture → 22% dry matter → 10 ÷ 22 × 100 ≈ 45% protein on a dry-matter basis.

Nutritionists go one step further and compare nutrients per calorie, because that's how much your puppy actually takes in to meet its energy needs. That's the "protein per 1,000 kcal" column above:

g per 1,000 kcal = (as-fed % × 10) ÷ kcal/kg × 1,000
Pro Plan Puppy Classic: (10 × 10) ÷ 1,187 × 1,000 ≈ 84 g protein per 1,000 kcal, versus an AAFCO growth minimum of 56.3 g.

Two more things to keep in mind. The guaranteed analysis lists minimums and maximums, not exact amounts, as Tufts points out, so the real values can be higher. And AAFCO notes that a canned food will always have fewer calories per kilogram as fed than a dry food because of its moisture. That's expected, and it's why you compare calories per can rather than weight. For a deeper walkthrough of protein comparisons, see our dog food protein guide.

Step 4: how many cans a day? A worked example

Merck and the AAHA nutrition guidelines estimate a growing puppy's energy needs from its resting energy requirement (70 × body weight in kg0.75): about three times that under 4 months of age, and about two times from 4 months on. Take a hypothetical 5-month-old puppy weighing 7 kg (about 15 lb):

RER = 70 × 70.75 ≈ 301 kcal → × 2 ≈ 600 kcal per day (starting estimate)
If fed only this foodkcal/canCans per dayPer meal (3 meals)
Hill's Science Diet Puppy Chicken & Barley (13 oz)495~1.2~0.4 can
Pro Plan Puppy Classic (13 oz)437~1.4~0.46 can
Pedigree Puppy Chopped Ground Dinner (13.2 oz)421~1.4~0.48 can
Royal Canin Puppy Loaf (13.5 oz)417~1.4~0.48 can
Royal Canin Puppy Loaf (5.2 oz)156~3.9~1.3 cans
Pro Plan Puppy Starter Mousse (5.5 oz)188~3.2~1.1 cans

Patify calculations. Merck recommends three meals a day from weaning to six months and two from six to twelve months. Adjust the estimate using weekly weigh-ins and body condition.

Splitting a large can across meals is where a kitchen scale earns its keep. A 13-ounce can holds about 370 grams; weigh out each meal's share rather than eyeballing "about a third." If you've just brought a puppy home, line meal times up with potty breaks, as our puppy crate training schedule shows.

Mixing wet and dry without overfeeding

Many owners feed a mix: kibble for convenience and cost, a little wet food for appeal. That works well as long as you treat the two as one calorie budget. A Hill's veterinary article notes that many owners start by replacing 25% to 50% of dry food calories with wet food, that there's "no single ideal ratio," and that adding wet food without adjusting portions leads to weight gain.

Some labels do the swap math for you. Pro Plan's puppy can says that when feeding with dry food, one can replaces about one cup of dry Pro Plan Puppy, which matches their calorie statements closely (437 kcal per can vs 456 kcal per cup). Pedigree's label says to replace 1½ cups of its dry puppy food with one can, again about calorie-neutral (about 438 vs 421 kcal).

600 kcal/day puppy, mixed feedingFrom wetPro Plan Puppy ClassicFrom dryPro Plan Puppy dry (456 kcal/cup)
25% wet~150 kcal~⅓ can~450 kcal~1 cup (~108 g)
50% wet~300 kcal~⅔ can~300 kcal~⅔ cup (~72 g)

Keep the mix consistent day to day. Switching ratios often makes it hard to tell whether a soft stool or a weight change comes from the food or the amount. And remember treats: Merck recommends keeping them under 10% of total calories.

Using wet food as a topper? A spoonful mixed into kibble is a great way to tempt a hesitant eater. Count it: one tablespoon of a 437-kcal can is a meaningful number of calories for a small puppy. If your puppy has digestive trouble, our guide to wet dog food for sensitive stomachs covers what to look for.

How much water does wet food add?

Hydration is one of wet food's quieter benefits, and it's easy to put a number on. Take the 600-calorie puppy from the example above. Fed only Pro Plan Puppy Classic, it would eat about 1.4 cans a day, roughly 510 grams of food. At up to 78% moisture, that's close to 400 grams of water, about 13 fluid ounces, delivered in the food itself. The same calories from Pro Plan's dry puppy food come to about 143 grams of kibble, carrying only around 17 grams of water at 12% moisture.

That doesn't mean a puppy on dry food is short of water; healthy puppies drink to make up the difference, and fresh water should always be available either way. But for a puppy that doesn't drink much, or during hot weather, the moisture in wet food is a real contribution. It also explains why a puppy on wet food may drink less from the bowl.

Switching to (or away from) wet food

Change food gradually over about a week, mixing increasing amounts of the new food into the old, and recalculate portions from the new label before you start. A sudden switch can upset a puppy's stomach, and with wet food there's a second trap: a puppy that loves the new can may start refusing kibble. If you plan to feed mostly dry food long term, keep wet food as a measured share of the daily calories rather than letting it become the only thing the puppy will eat.

The same applies when your puppy outgrows puppy food. Adult wet foods carry their own calorie statements, and a can of adult food may have noticeably fewer or more calories than the puppy can it replaces. The switch to adult food should follow skeletal maturity, not a fixed age; our small-breed puppy and Golden Retriever guides cover timing for small and large dogs.

Cans, pouches, trays and tubs

Wet puppy food also comes in pouches, single-serve trays and resealable tubs. The rules don't change with the package. AAFCO requires the calorie statement in kcal per kilogram, and lets manufacturers add a familiar unit such as per can or per tray, so the per-unit figure is always the one to use for daily math. The FDA's storage advice covers canned and pouched food alike: refrigerate or discard leftovers promptly. Smaller packs often cost more per calorie, as the Royal Canin prices below show, but they waste less if your puppy eats small meals.

Six mistakes that make wet feeding go wrong

  1. Counting cans instead of calories. A can can hold anywhere from about 140 to almost 500 kcal.
  2. Feeding a supplemental product as a meal. Read the statement; "intermittent or supplemental feeding only" means it can't be the diet.
  3. Adding wet food on top of the full kibble portion. Every spoonful needs to come out of the dry ration.
  4. Leaving the bowl down. Moist food shouldn't sit out for hours. Pick it up after the meal.
  5. Switching can sizes without rechecking. As the Royal Canin example shows, the same product name can carry different numbers.
  6. Ignoring the large-breed wording. A food that excludes growth of large size dogs isn't the right main diet for a puppy headed past 50 to 70 pounds.

Storage and safety: the rules for an open can

Wet food is a moist, protein-rich food, so it needs the same care as leftovers in your own fridge. The FDA's guidance on storing pet food is clear on the basics: promptly refrigerate or throw out unused or leftover canned and pouched pet food, keep the fridge at 40°F or below, and tightly cover refrigerated pet food. Keep unopened cans in a cool, dry place below 80°F, avoid dented cans, wash and dry bowls after every use, and don't use the bowl itself as a scoop. AVMA guidance agrees, adding that leftovers should be used as soon as possible and according to the label.

How long is an open can good for?

Here sources disagree, which is why the label on your specific product should win:

SourceOpened can in the fridgeBowl at room temperature
Tufts PetfoodologyDiscard after 72 hours, even if refrigeratedNot specified
Pedigree puppy labelUp to 3 daysServe at room temperature
Hill's storage guidanceUp to 5–7 days at 40–45°FRemove uneaten canned food within 4 hours if the room is above 50°F
FDA and AVMARefrigerate promptly, use as soon as possible, follow the labelNot specified

Our practical rule: follow your product's label, and when it's silent or you're unsure, use an open can within three days. Pick up whatever your puppy hasn't eaten after the meal rather than leaving it out. Hill's suggests covering opened cans with a plastic lid or plastic wrap, noting that zip-top bags are a poor barrier to oxygen and odor. Both Tufts and Hill's advise against freezing canned food. Some labels, including Pedigree's and Wellness's, suggest serving at room temperature, so take the portion out a little before mealtime.

Unopened, wet food keeps a long time; the Hill's article notes it's stable for up to two years. Check the best-by date when buying in bulk.

What wet food really costs

Tufts University's Petfoodology team modeled feeding costs for a dog eating 1,100 kcal a day and found that feeding only wet food costs about five times as much as feeding only dry, even within the same brands. In a separate post, the team stresses that the right comparison is cost per calorie, "not the cost per pound or can."

Only one brand in our table listed prices on its official site. Royal Canin's own prices on October 28, 2026 make the point:

Royal Canin Puppy Loaf in SauceListed priceCalories in packCost per 1,000 kcalPer day at 600 kcal
12 × 13.5 oz cans$47.885,004 kcal~$9.57~$5.76
24 × 5.2 oz cans$66.963,744 kcal~$17.88~$10.76

The small cans cost nearly twice as much per calorie as the large ones. For comparison, a 2019 Tufts worked example priced a dry food at about $0.78 per 1,000 kcal. Prices have moved since then, but the gap between formats is large. A mixed feeding approach often gives you most of wet food's appeal at a fraction of the cost. For more ways to save, see our budget-friendly dog food guide.

When wet food makes the most sense

  • Weaning. Soft, complete puppy foods and mousses make the move from milk to solid food easier. Our guide to feeding a nursing dog covers the weaning timeline for both puppies and mother.
  • The first days home. A familiar or appealing food helps a stressed puppy eat. Our first 30 days guide covers the rest of that transition.
  • Teething. A sore mouth can make kibble less appealing for a few days. Softened or wet food helps; persistent chewing problems deserve a look, as our teething guide explains.
  • Small or picky eaters. Tiny puppies that eat poorly may do better with something more aromatic, as long as the food is complete for growth and portions are measured.
  • Extra moisture. The Hill's article notes that wet food's higher moisture can help support hydration.

Wet food isn't required for a healthy puppy. Plenty of puppies grow up well on a complete dry growth food. Choose the format that your puppy eats reliably and that you can afford to feed consistently.

Wet puppy food questions

Is wet food better than dry food for puppies?

Neither is better by default. Both can be complete and balanced for growth. Wet food is more palatable and adds moisture; dry food is cheaper per calorie and easier to measure. Many owners use both.

Can I feed my puppy only wet food?

Yes, if the food is labeled complete and balanced for growth or all life stages and you feed enough calories. Expect it to cost considerably more than dry food.

How long can wet puppy food sit out?

Not long. Hill's suggests removing uneaten canned food within four hours if the room is above 50°F, and the FDA and AVMA advise refrigerating or discarding leftovers promptly. In practice, pick up the bowl after the meal.

How long does an opened can last in the fridge?

Follow the label. Recommendations range from 72 hours (Tufts) and up to 3 days (Pedigree) to 5–7 days (Hill's). If in doubt, use it within three days, covered tightly.

What does "dinner" or "with chicken" mean on a can?

Under AAFCO naming rules, "dinner," "entrée" or "platter" means the named ingredient is at least 25% of the product by weight excluding added water; "with chicken" means at least 3%; "chicken flavor" means only that the flavor is detectable.

Can a large-breed puppy eat any wet puppy food?

No. Check that the statement includes growth of large size dogs. Some wet puppy foods, like Pedigree's Chopped Ground Dinner, specifically exclude large-size growth.

References

Patify Editorial Research Team compiled this guide from the label data and veterinary sources above, checked October 28, 2026. It has not been reviewed by a veterinarian, and Patify did not taste-test or lab-test any of these foods or receive anything from their makers. Labels and prices change, so confirm the details on the product you buy.

You Might Also Like

See All Similar